Mother Tested, Mother Approved: Morning Makeup Routine

Wearing makeup is a hit or miss when it comes to incorporating it into a lifestyle.  Is it necessary to wear makeup every day?  Is it necessary to wear makeup only on special occasions?  To each his own…  As a working mom and makeup artist, I don’t have time to do a full glam face everyday since I sit behind a desk all day.  I didn’t wear makeup throughout high school and college, but only discovered it once I started working full time and earning a steady income.  I would splurge a good percentage of my paycheck to buying different makeup and skincare items and testing everything under the umbrella.  It came to the point where I was an avid hoarder in purchasing any shiny item I touched even though I had no clue how to use it.  I’ve finally put my curiosity into good use by turning my interest into a career.  My personal makeup collection and professional makeup kit has taken over the nooks and crannies of my house and closet.  Since I have all this makeup, how and when will I use it before it expires?  Well wear makeup daily, duh!  But no one has time to apply makeup if you want to snooze a couple more minutes in the morning while 6 months pregnant.

222086-makeup-makeup-collage

I’ve tested different products throughout the years in order to create a simple, straight-forward makeup routine in the morning.  Don’t get me wrong- there are days I want to completely skip out on makeup.  But this pregnancy is creating its own ugly marks on my face, so I prefer to cover it up rather than walk around looking like a zombie because this baby is sucking the life out of me.  This may or may not work for everyone, but the following items have helped me create that simple “clean face” look by focusing on what I want to cover up and what I want to enhance.

Here’s a bit of background on my current skin concerns:  I have combination/normal skin during the winter where it’s typically oily on my forehead, chin and nose, but extremely dry and flaky along the bridge of my nose.  I have dark spots, post acne-scars along my cheeks and chin, and dark, puffy circles under my eyes.  My preferred makeup items to help target my skin concerns include a light-to-medium coverage foundation that has SPF and an under eye concealer that’s more for color correcting.  Makeup products that I regularly use include a brow pencil, eyeliner, mascara, bronzer and blush.  Using these products after my skincare routine takes a total of 10 minutes tops.  Again, I’ve been testing and practicing this routine so that I could do this with my eyes closed (haven’t tried it yet, but I’m up for the challenge).

makeup_eyes
Top to Bottom: Billy B eyelash curler, Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil, Chantecaille Mascara (iPhone 6+ photo quality)

After toning and moisturizing my face, I curl my lashes using my Billy B eyelash curler and then work on my brows.  I love using brow pencils that have a triangular tip, such as Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer in Medium Brown, because it’s the perfect size for my naturally full brows.  It’s a retractable pencil with the brow product on one side and a spooley on the other.  Just a couple of short strokes to fill in my sparse areas and I’m good to go.  Afterwards, I apply a waterproof black eyeliner using Urban Decays 24/7 Glide-On Pencil in Perversion which is the blackest matte black pencil ever.  I finish my eyes with a couple of coats of mascara to help separate, lengthen and create volume for my naturally straight lashes.  I switch between Kjaer Weis mascara (which is an organic brand) and Chantecaille Faux Cils mascara (pictured above).  These mascaras have become my favorites because it holds the curl all day unlike other mascaras which tend to straighten out my curled lashes a few hours after application.

makeup_face
Top to Bottom: Laura Gellar Filter Finish Setting Powder, Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Bronzer, Maybelline BB Cream, NARS blush, Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Concealer (iPhone 6+ photo quality)

After the eyes, I quickly work on complexion (my face) which takes less than 5 minutes because I’m only using 4 products.  Since I have oily skin, I gravitate towards matte-finish foundations.  But I find that it makes my face look flat during the winter.  So I’ve been applying a light layer of Laura Gellar Filter Finish Setting Powder from Ulta.  I purchased this last month and even though it says “setting powder”, I find that it brings out my inner glow without looking oily which is why I apply this first.  Once I do this, I use my fingers and apply Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream in Medium.  This helps even out any redness on my face and lightens dark spots along my cheeks.  I softly contour my face using Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Matte Bronzer (which I’ve had for years!) and then blend NARS Blush in Dolce Vita onto my cheeks focusing along the contour rather than the apples of my cheeks.  Lastly, I bounce a very thin layer of concealer onto the hollows of my eye socket using Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Concealer in R32 (another recent purchase).  This concealer has a peach undertone which color corrects dark circles.  I like that the shade is pretty close to my natural skin tone so I don’t have to double up on color correcting and concealing under my eyes.  This concealer is a liquid-creamy texture (but not runny) so I prefer warming up the product on the back of my hand and using my ring finger for application.

makeup_full face
(iPhone 6+ photo quality)

So this is my daily makeup routine.  This might sound like a lot, but it has been working for me.  If you’re like me (an avid makeup hoarder), those makeup items on your vanity, closet, bathroom – wherever – won’t last forever.  They do expire and when you use an expired makeup product, your face will hate you for it.  So explore and try out new ways in shortening your makeup routine whether if it’s going to work, running errands or date night.  Practice makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

