My Family of 3 Just Became 4

Last Sunday I had my parents, sister, and mother and brother-in-law gather together at my house to celebrate Mother’s Day before the baby made his world debut.  The time between Sunday and Wednesday felt like forever, but I kept myself busy with household chores and last minute errands.  We were fortunate enough to have family stay over to take care of my daughter while my husband and I were at the hospital.  By Wednesday lunchtime, the world became a bit better and brighter because my little man entered my life.  I’m still on Cloud 9 as I float through the clouds every time I stare into his eyes and he takes in the world.  All I’ve been wanting throughout this pregnancy is to deliver a healthy baby boy and he’s finally here.

IMG_5565
Hospital selfie with my husband (iPhone 6+ photo quality)

I woke up Wednesday morning ready to deliver this baby with basic knowledge of an induced labor procedure.  Once my husband and I settled into the hospital, my doctor informed me that I was already 3-4 cm dilated, 85% effaced, and will most likely deliver by 12pm.  To my surprise, that was a mere 4.5 hours away!  The doctor induced me by breaking my water which was a strange feeling.  It didn’t feel like I was intentionally peeing.  Rather I was involuntarily draining out fluids via the doctor pushing down on my pregnant belly.  I received an epidural which wasn’t painful as anticipated (I didn’t see the needle) until they had to redo it (FYI- the epidural is aligned with your spine and if you feel it towards the right or left side, then they have to redo it).  Unfortunately, the epidural wasn’t effective (in my opinion) because I felt all the pain and pressure in my lower abdomin up to the final push.  Side note: I guess I have a high pain tolerance because I didn’t have an epidural or any pain medication when I delivered my firstborn.  My husband stepped out of the room for some fresh air as my sister came to visit me right around 12pm.  Simultaneous, my doctor and nurse were finalizing the room and whatever was left for them to prep themselves with.  My contractions were frequent and the pain was unbearable which was the signal that baby is ready to come out.  I did a practice push with the doctor and nurse which pretty much jumped my body into active labor mode.  My husband barely made it back into the room as I started my first push.

IMG_5567
Ready for baby to arrive! (iPhone 6+ photo quality)

Holy hell, pushing this baby felt harder and longer compared to my firstborn.  It felt like forever for him to go through the birth canal.  Everyone in the room kept telling me to keep pushing because his head was right there.  (In my head, it sounded like they were filthy liars but that may have been the adrenaline rushing through me…)  It felt like my legs were giving out at every push, my arms started to lose strength in holding up my legs, and my body slowly going into shut down mode.  Slowly but surely my little boy eventually came out and all the pain disappeared.  Well, almost disappeared because the doctor had to clean me out which was painful (stitches in your vaginal area is the worst feeling ever!).  I was in a daze as the nurse placed my naked baby on my chest; my husband still in shock with what just happened; the doctor doing whatever he was doing down there; and I was coming down from my adrenaline high.  In the end, I delivered a perfectly healthy boy less than 3 weeks before his due date.

IMG_5592
My boys (iPhone 6+ photo quality)

Brandon Erikson Hughes was born on Wednesday, May 11 at 12:44pm weighing 7 lbs 3 oz and 19 inches long.  His first cry brought relief into my life.  Our eyes setting on each other made my heart skip a beat.  My heart flutters every time I say and realize that I have 2 kids.  My road of medical concerns and worries led up to my reality coming alive with my healthy baby boy.  My daughter loves her baby brother and she fulfills her “little mommy” role of the house quite well.  She tends to his every cry, likes to count his little fingers and toes, and insists to hold him any chance she can get.  She loves giving him kisses and saying “hey there brother”.  We’ve only been a family of 4 for a few short days, but it feels complete as our little man makes our family whole.

Welcome to the world Brandon- the world is your oyster!

One thought on “My Family of 3 Just Became 4

  1. Awww congratulations, he’s absolutely adorable! *w* I’m not a mother so I have no idea about how much it takes to take care of your children, but I just wanna say good luck cuz I know it’s definitely a demanding task! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

